The Qabalah, the Tree of Life, and the Tarot


The Qabalah is a collection of ancient mystical concepts that connect the infinite macrocosm with the finite microcosm. "As above, so below." Each Sepheriah of the Tree of life holds energy of the evolution of consciousness. Connecting your own consciousness with the symbols of the tree will activate the channels between you and the universal mind through the tree of life. The tree of life is not just a picture and symbols, but an interdimensional tool to help you gain understanding of the hidden forces of the world. The Minor Arcana cards of the tarot are numbered one through ten, which correspond to each of the Sephiroth. The 22 Major Arcana Cards relate to the paths between each of the sephiroth. To have a thourough understanding of the Tarot, one must look to the Qabalah and the Tree of Life for clues in understanding the meaning within the cards. The study of the Qabalah could take a life-time to fully digest! I'll present very basic concepts here:

The ten Sephiroth of the Tree of Life:


The Three Supernals

  1 2 3
Sephirah Kether Chokmah Binah
  the Crown Wisdom, Crown of Creation Understanding, the Throne
Material Manifestation   Zodiac and space Saturn
    Superior Father Superior Mother
    Positive Negative
Description Oneness, no form, only pure being in a state of inertia The stimulator of the universe. Gives impulse to manifestation. Time and Death. As formation is born, death is inevitable
Keywords Unity, all, pure consciousness, godhead, beginning, source. Pure creative energy, life force, wellspring Limitation, karma, time and space, law, death
Virtue Completion of great work Devotion Silence
Vice None none Inertia, avarice
Illusion Attainment Independence Death


The Ethical Triangle, reflection of the supernal


  4 5 6
Sephirah Chesed Geburah Tiphareth
  Mercy, Majesty Stregnth, Severity Beauty
Material Manifestation Jupiter Mars Sun
Description Constructive and organizing energy that builds blueprints for all forms. Imposes the limitations of morality. Represents the breaking down force to bring equilibrium.

Birth of self consciousness in creation. The heart of creation. Transmutation of force to formation. It is through the Sun that life comes to Earth. All solar deities reside here. Balance of Kether on a lower plane and Yesod on a higher plane.

Keywords Authority, Creativity, Inpiration, vision, leadership Power, courage, domination, passion, destroyer Harmony, integrity, balance, wholeness, the felf, self-sacrifice
Virtue Obedience Courage, loyalty Devotion to the great work; integrity.
Vice Tyranny, hypocrisy, bigatry, gluttony, waste Cruelty, destruction Pride, self-important
Illusion Self-rightousness Invincibility Identification

The Four Lower Sephiroth - the further organization of the preceding pattern. Represent the personality or the lower-self.

  7 8 9 10
Sephirah Netzach Hod Yesod Malkuth
  Victory Glory the Foundation the Kingdom
Material Manifestation Venus Mercury Moon Four Elements
Description Positive force of attraction and cohesion. The sphere of power and beauty. Represent the artists who expresses his emotions through color and sound Negative force behind flux and change. The scientist. Represents the concrete mind; the sphere of the formulation of forms, the sphere of magic. Rules the cycles of time. Rules the unconscious mind and emotions. Organizing the machinery of the universe. The receptacle of all of the emanations of the above sephiroth and the transmitter of these to the physical plane. Represents the entire physical world made up of the four elements of water, fire, air, earth.
Keywords Empathy, sympathy, pleasure, luxury, sensuality, desire, lust Genius, reason, mediation, communication, self-knowledge, ambivalence Perception, imagination, emotion, integration. Material, solid, nature, heavy
Virtue Unselfishness Truthfulness Independence Discrimination
Vice Lust Falsehead Idleness, sloth Avarice
Illusion Projection Order Security Materialism